Nina Sibal AwardAIWEFA administering the Nina Sibal Memorial Award for an NGO working on disability, with the endowment made by Shri Kapil Sibal, then erstwhile Hon’ble Union Minister of State for Science & Technology & Earth Sciences, in memory of his late wife Smt. Nina Sibal. The award is to encourage organisations which are managing and educating disabled and disadvantaged children through innovative methods.

Past Recipients of the Award:

Ms. Merry Barua, President, Action for Autism, was awarded the “1st Nina Sibal memorial Award” for her organisation. Merry Barua is a disability activist who has tried to put “autism” as the disability for attracting greater attention to its management both by the victim and family and others working with them, and emphasised the need for the recognition of this communication disorder.

Mr. Sumit Roy
, was awarded the “2nd Nina Sibal Memorial Award” for his organisation, Digdarshika. Digdarshika Institute of Rehabilitation and Research is a non-profit voluntary organisation, has a vision to provide congenial environment and equal opportunities for the mentally challenged, through its research and documentation.

Dr. Sangeeta Agarwal
, was awarded the “3rd Nina Sibal Memorial Award” for her organisation Shubham, Shubham is a welfare organisation for the development of persons with disabilities. Its activities are targeted at enabling people suffering from both physical and mental impairment to be encouraged and brought into the main stream of healthy life.

Dr.Kshama Metre, National Director, Chinmaya Organisation for Rural Development (CORD), ( Himachal Pradesh ), was awarded the “4th Nina Sibal Memorial Award ”, for her organisation. The main objective of the organisation is to empower and provide an opportunity to the differently abled persons to live as important citizens of the country and contribute as any other person.

Shri P. C. Kapoor, was awarded the “5th Nina Sibal Award” , for his organisation Jammu Red Cross-A Home for Handicapped, ( Jammu & Kashmir), which provides the children education, free uniforms, free coaching and pre occupational training apart from physiotherapy and medicare for victims of poliomyelitis, so that they grow up with dignity into worthy citizens.

Shri N. Krishnaswamy, IPS (Retd), was awarded the “6th Nina Sibal Memorial Award” for his organisation, Vidya Vrikshah ,Chennai, ( Tamil Nadu). Vidya Vrikshah, in its mission to share knowledge and spread education to all including socially and physically disadvantaged persons has adopted path breaking technologies to reach the usually unreachable groups of people.They have applied I.T. skills for producing learning materials for persons with different disabilities, including visual disability.

Prof. (Dr.) Asha Hans
 was awarded the 7th Nina Sibal Award for her organization Shanta Memorial Rehabilitation Centre (Bhubneshwar, Orissa). Shanta Memorial Rehabilitation Centre which provides services for the physically disabled children and adults in the state of Orissa. SMRC has been striving to create and implement a wide range of activities, designed to meet the medical, physical, emotional, social and vocational needs of persons with disabilities so as to hasten their return to independent and productive living within the community, since its inception.


Mr. R.C. Hiremath, was awarded the 8th Nina Sibal Award for his organization “Flexitron” of Bangalore, on 2nd August 2010. Flexitron has brought technological innovations, like alternative energy, low cost lighting, disease control etc. to focus on the poor, women, children, and differently-abled persons in the society. 

Dr. M.K.C. Nair, Founder Director of Child Development Centre,Medical College, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, was awarded the 9th Nina Sibal Awardfor his organization on account of the pioneering work done on Reduction of Disability through novel scientific initiatives.

Mr. Asok Chakraborty, Secretary, “Shelter” Bhadreshwar, Hooghly, West Bengal was awarded the 10th Nina Sibal Award for his organisation on account of their dedicated work towards education and rehabilitation of persons with mental retardation in association with other disabilities.

Ms. Sheela Sinha, Director Education, Helen Keller Institute for Deaf & Deaf blind (HKIDB) , Mumbai, Maharashtra was awarded the 11th Nina Sibal Award for her organisation on account of their dedicated work towards educating and rehabilitating the deaf & blind.


Dr. Anupa Siddhu, Director, Lady Irwin College, New Delhi was awarded the 12th Nina Sibal Award for her institute on account of their dedicated work towards inclusive education and training Disability Educators.


Mr. Javed Ahmad Tak, Founder Humanity Welfare Organisation Helpline, Anantnag, Jammu & Kashmir, in recognition of his organisation’s pioneering work in rehabilitating disabled children affected by the disturbed situation in that area.


Mr. Arman Ali, Director, Shishu Sarothi, Centre for Rehabilitation and Training for Multiple Disability, Guwahati, Assam  for his pioneering work  for  empowerment of children with disabilities by providing them avenues for holistic development in cognitive , physical and socio emotional domains leading to developing academic self help and  functional skills.


Dr. Arun Mukherjee Founder Director, “UDAAN for the disabled ”, New Delhi  for his   research based pioneering work  that draws upon new techniques for training, rehabilitation and early medical intervention in a holistic manner for moderate to severe maladies like Autism Spectrum Disorder, Cerebral Palsy, Down Syndrome, Mental Retardation, Traumatic Brain Injury and Learning Disabilities.

2018: Mr. Sudeep Goyal, Chief Functionary, Asha Ka Jharna, Jhunjhunu, Rajasthan, reiving the XVI AIWEFA Nina Sibal Memorial Award from Dr. Karqan SIngh & Shri Kapil Sibal.


To apply for the Nina Sibal Memorial Award, please  Click Here.